#NoHateEP2014 campaign: first hate speech report

In March, ENAR and ILGA-Europe launched an Appeal for an election campaign free from discrimination and intolerance, urging European parties to condemn discriminatory or intolerant remarks during the European Parliament election campaign.
An online form was launched, enabling the public to report discriminatory or intolerant incidents during the campaign. This report compiles submissions received so far.

8 May 2014

After 6 weeks of campaigning, we received 17 valid reports of hate speech against minorities.

Reports consisted mostly of incitement to hatred, prejudice or discrimination, either implicitly (6 in 10) or explicitly (4 in 10). Incidents also included attacks on the dignity of minority groups—and notably migrants, asylum-seekers and ethnic minorities. Derogatory or insulting language was also noted in several cases (4 in 10).

A large number of reports (3 in 10) originated from the United Kingdom; however, language self-selection and the collection methodology means this may not be representative of the genuine occurrence of hate speech across the campaign in the EU.

Finally, reports have mostly come from the political margins, with most coming from candidates with no European party affiliation (6 in 10), or from European parties from the radical right (2 in 10).

We will continue monitoring incidences of hate speech in the context of the campaign, and publish further updates, including possible new reactions by political parties.

Read the full report here

Become a member

Are you an organisation working on anti-racism and anti-discrimination in a European country?

Join us


Engage in supporting racial justice across Europe !



ENAR’s Equal@work Platform brings together businesses, social partners, NGOs, public authorities and academics committed to diversity and inclusion, to find solutions for the participation of ethnic minorities in the labour market.

More about Equal@work


With the support of the Rights, Equality and Citizenship Programme of the European Union, the Open Society Foundations, the Joseph Rowntree Charitable Trust and the Sigrid Rausing Trust